Home / Information / Do You Know How to Increase the Security of Your Data on Facebook

Do You Know How to Increase the Security of Your Data on Facebook

If you have a profile on Facebook, you must be aware that it knows everything about you. Not only does Facebook know everything about you, but third-party applications and partners in the social network ecosystem also know, writes ZD Net.

Recently, information leaked to the public that the company Cambridge Analytica collected private data from users with over 50 million profiles on that network, which is attributed to Donald Trump’s victory in the 2016 elections. The data, which includes name, location, information about friends, and content that the user likes, was collected through Facebook’s application thisisyourdigitallife.

It is advisable to remove all applications that you do not use.

Facebook’s applications generally collect data without the user’s knowledge, so it is wise to know which applications have access to personal data and to pay attention to privacy settings. Fortunately, in the user account settings, there is an overview of the applications linked to the account, and they can easily be permanently removed. Even those applications that you have not used for several years.

>>>The Commission Wants Data Protection Authorities to Launch an Investigation Against Facebook

In a statement from Facebook, it is stated, among other things, that “the platform allows you to transfer your Facebook experience to other applications and websites you use. This allows Facebook to receive information about the use of third-party applications and websites to provide you with a better personalized experience.”

Users in the Facebook application settings can choose whether they want others to see which application they are using. If you do not want to individually disable each application, you can completely disable the Facebook platform. In that case, you will not be able to use third-party applications and access websites linked to Facebook, but you will not share more data than you want.

>>>Facebook: The Entire Company is Furious Because We Were Deceived

Facebook’s privacy policy states that if you do not want applications and websites to access categories of information such as your friends list, gender, and publicly shared information, you can disable all applications. However, you will not be able to independently access such games and applications.

Disabling Notifications

When you disable the Facebook platform for applications, you will no longer be able to log into websites and applications using Facebook, you will not be able to log into mobile applications that connect to Facebook, and your friends will not be able to communicate with you and share content using applications and pages.

The platform can be disabled in the application settings by selecting the option ‘Edit Applications, Websites, and Plugins’.

Instant personalization will be disabled, and previously installed applications will retain shared content, which can be deleted by directly contacting the application owner. Additionally, applications you are logged into, either through Facebook or anonymously, will be removed, and posts that applications have published on your profile will be deleted.

Similarly, notifications sent to your friends by games and applications can be disabled in the application settings. Facebook’s security and login settings page shows the locations where you have logged in and which device you used.

>>>Zuckerberg: We Were Wrong

It also shows who can see the data on your profile related to your own posts, posts where you are tagged, friends list, email, phone number, and you can determine who can send you a friend request.

In the same place, you can also check the permissions you have granted to mobile applications regarding the use of the microphone, storage space, camera, and similar by the application.

Finally, it is important to regularly delete web browser cookies, which will send less data to Facebook that they would otherwise use for ad personalization.